Posted by: cubaa | September 3, 2007

Keep it up…

walter-lippman.jpgWhat a beautiful blog. I see that I have a lot to learn from you. Please keep up the beautiful work.

My father and his parents lived in Cuba from 1939 to 1942. They were German Jewish refugees from Hitler’s holocaust. That’s where my own interest in Cuba comes from. My dad took me to see Cuba in the summer of 1956. I mostly remember it was a very hot and sticky place, but my life has been affected by this Cuban connection permanently.

Cuban society today represents an effort to build an alternative to the way life was under the dictatorship of Fulgencio Batista. Some things work, some don’t. It has all sorts of flaws and contradictions, as well as significant achievements. No society is perfect. But we can certainly learn a few things from Cuba’s experience. I think we can learn more than a few.

After I went to Cuba in 1999, on the first ever meeting of U.S. and Cuban yoga teachers and students, I’ve been involved with Cuba-related things. First it was the Elian Gonzalez struggle, and later I became the main contributore to the CubaNews list, a free Yahoo news group which compiles a wide range of materials, pro and con, about Cuba, its people, politics and culture, and life within the island and affecting it in the Cuban diapora abroad. Founded August 2000. Details on the Yahoo newsgroup:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/CubaNews/

Walter Lippmann
Los Angeles, California


Leave a comment

Categories